EC: No extra seats in peninsula during re-delineation


Source: The Star Online

EC secretary Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh. Pic drawn from The Star Online.

EC secretary Abdul Ghani Salleh. Pic drawn from The Star Online.

PETALING JAYA: The number of Parliamentary and state assembly seats in the peninsula will stay the same for the Election Commission’s (EC) latest nationwide re-delineation exercise.

However, the number of state assembly constituencies in Sabah will increase by 13 to a total number of 73 seats.

Certain Parliamentary and state constituencies across the country will also undergo name changes and amendments to their existing electoral boundaries, the EC said in statement on Tuesday.

EC secretary Datuk Abdul Ghani Salleh (pic) said its recommendations on the review of the delimitation exercise for all Parliamentary and state constituencies will be placed on display for one month beginning Sept 15 at specified locations.

“The locations will be specified in the delineation notice to be published in local newspapers on Sept 15.

“Full details of the proposed recommendations will be stated in the delineation notice. The information will show all the federal and state constituencies within Peninsula Malaysia and Sabah,” he said in a statement.

Objections to the EC’s list of recommendations can only be made by the state government, local authorities in constituencies partly or wholly included in the exercise, or a group of no less than 100 registered voters of a particular constituency affected by the re-delineation exercise.

All objections should be submitted in writing to the state election director latest by Oct 14.