Redelineation: 18 parliament seats in Selangor to see changes


Source: Free Malaysia Today

The EC’s redelineation proposals will affect 18 of Selangor’s 22 parliament seats. Besides the transfer of voters and polling districts, the EC has also proposed a name change for five parliament and nine state constituencies in Selangor.

Election Commission’s redelineation report 2018. Pic from FMT News.

PETALING JAYA: The electoral boundary changes recommended by the Election Commission (EC) in its redelineation report for Selangor will affect 18 of its 22 parliament seats.

Of the 18 seats, only two are currently held by Barisan Nasional (BN).

The rest are represented by PKR (9), DAP (4), Amanah (2) and PAS (1).

The BN seats are Tanjong Karang and Kuala Selangor while PKR-controlled seats are Selayang, Gombak, Ampang, Pandan, Subang, Kelana Jaya, Kapar, Kuala Langat and Petaling Jaya Selatan.

DAP has Petaling Jaya Utara, Puchong, Klang and Serdang, while the sole parliament seat represented by PAS is Hulu Langat. Two other seats won by PAS in the last general election (GE13) but whose MPs have since crossed over to Amanah are Shah Alam and Kota Raja.

Under the changes proposed by the EC, the Permatang state seat in Tanjong Karang will receive 1,245 voters from Sungai Burong and 81 voters from Bukit Melawati, which is in Kuala Selangor.

In GE13, BN won Permatang by 1,026 votes, Sungai Burong by 3,013 votes and Bukit Melawati by 806 votes. Tanjong Karang’s MP is Selangor BN chairman Noh Omar.

In Subang, the Paya Jaras state seat will have 3,117 voters added to its electorate from Jeram, which is in Kuala Selangor.

In GE13, PAS won Paya Jaras with a majority of 5,522 votes while BN took Jeram by a 2,834-vote majority.

In Ampang, the Bukit Antarabangsa state seat will receive 4,901 voters from Hulu Kelang in the Gombak parliamentary constituency. Another 3,768 voters will be moved to Bukit Antarabangsa from Chempaka in Pandan.

In GE13, PKR won Bukit Antarabangsa with a majority of 4,044 votes while Hulu Kelang went to a PAS candidate who later joined Amanah. He won the seat by 2,881 votes.

Selangor Menteri Besar Mohamed Azmin Ali, who is Gombak MP, will see 5,288 voters moved to his constituency from two polling districts in Bukit Antarabangsa, which he also represents.

In Pandan, the Teratai state seat will have 4,299 voters added to its electorate from Lembah Jaya in Ampang and 5,573 voters from Chempaka.

In GE13, DAP won in Teratai with a majority of 13,646 votes while PAS took Lembah Jaya and Chempaka with majorities of 8,713 and 9,608 votes respectively.

In Hulu Langat, a whopping 16,672 voters will be moved to the Kajang state constituency from seven polling districts in Bangi, in Serdang.

In GE13, PAS won in Bangi by 11,838 votes. Kajang was won in a by-election in 2014 by PKR president Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail with a majority of 5,379 votes.

In Serdang, the Dusun Tua state constituency will see 3,704 voters transferred from Kajang.

In GE13, PAS won in Dusun Tua with a majority of 4,071 votes.

In Puchong, two polling districts from Seri Serdang will be added to Kinrara.

In GE13, DAP won in Kinrara by 14,604 votes and PAS in Seri Serdang by 16,251 votes.

In Kuala Langat, the Teluk Datuk state constituency will get an additional two polling districts carved from Morib and two more from Sijangkang.

In GE13, DAP won Teluk Datuk by 5,391 votes and PAS (now Amanah) in Morib by 766 votes. PAS also won Sijangkang with a majority of 2,942 votes.

Besides the transfer of voters and polling districts, the EC also proposed a name change for five parliamentary and nine state constituencies.

The parliamentary constituencies affected are Serdang (new name: Bangi), Kelana Jaya (Subang), Petaling Jaya Selatan (Petaling Jaya), Petaling Jaya Utara (Damansara) and Subang (Sungai Buloh).

The state constituencies affected are Batu Caves (new name: Sungai Tua), Chempaka (Pandan Indah), Bangi (Sungai Ramal), Damansara Utama (Bandar Utama), Sungai Pinang (Bandar Baru Klang), Kota Alam Shah (Sentosa), Seri Andalas (Sungai Kandis), Sri Muda (Kota Kemuning) and Teluk Datuk (Banting).