Past Presidents

Over the years after its official registration in 1991, HAKAM continued to be led by illustrious and capable individuals.

These are our past Presidents:


Tan Sri Ahmad Nordin - HAKAM

Tan Sri Ahmad Nordin Zakaria – HAKAM


Tan Sri Ahmad Nordin Haji Zakaria had a distinguished career in civil service which culminated with his stint as Auditor General from 1976 to 1986. He won the Ramon Magsaysay Award for Government Services for his effectiveness and fearless exposure of government corruption and inefficiency.




Raja Aziz Addruse - HAKAM

Raja Aziz Addruse – HAKAM


Raja Aziz Addruse was a giant in legal circles, serving 3 times as President of the Bar Council, including during the crucial years of the Judicial Crisis. He was also a Commissioner for the International Commission of Jurists.




Ramdas Tikamdas - HAKAM

Ramdas Tikamdas – HAKAM


Ramdas Tikamdas is a prominent lawyer, mediator and arbitrator. Besides HAKAM, he held office at the Pahang Consumers Association, Selangor Consumers Association, FOMCA and ERA Consumer. He has written many articles on human rights in various publications and journals.




Cecil Rajendra - HAKAM

Cecil Rajendra – HAKAM


Cecil Rajendra is famous not only for his work as a lawyer-activist, but as a poet. In 2005, he was awarded the Malaysian Lifetime Humanitarian Award for his legal aid work and inspirational poetry. That same year, he was also nominated for the Noble Prize for Literature.




Malik Imtiaz Sarwar - HAKAM

Malik Imtiaz Sarwar – HAKAM


Datuk Malik Imtiaz Sarwar is a highly respected lawyer and has been at the forefront of Malaysia’s human rights cases. A tireless activist for the rule of law and liberties, he was awarded the Bindman’s Freedom of Expression Award for Law & Campaigning in 2009.




Abdul Rashid Ismail - HAKAM

Abdul Rashid Ismail – HAKAM


Abdul Rashid Ismail was one of the lawyers in the Sagong bin Tasi case (Orang Asli Customary Land Rights case) from the High Court, to the Court of Appeal and the Federal Court. Rashid was also a Chevening Scholar and is a graduate of the University of Oxford with a Masters of Studies in International Human Rights Law.





~ 25.11.2016